Board Members

Officers of the Board:

Erich Richter, M.D.
Dr. Richter is currently in private practice in New Orleans, Louisiana.  Formerly, he was the Associate Director of the Epilepsy Center of Excellence, and Director of Surgical Epilepsy. His undergraduate work was performed at the University of Florida in Electrical Engineering. He then pursued his medical school training at the Ohio State University, and returned to the University of Florida for his residency, where he received mentorship in the surgical treatment of epilepsy under Stephen Roper, M.D. His fellowship training was at the University of Toronto under Andres Lozano, M.D., PhD. He is board certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery with special interests in stereotactic and functional neurosurgery. Dr. Richter’s practice specializes in treating patients with brain cancer, epilepsy, movement disorders and spine problems with the latest in neuro-oncology and neurosurgery.

Sanjeet Narang, MD
President Elect
Dr. Sanjeet Narang is an anesthesiologist in Boston, Massachusetts and is affiliated with multiple hospitals in the area, including Boston Children’s Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He received his medical degree from Armed Forces Medical College Pune and has been in practice for 26 years. He is one of 79 doctors at Boston Children’s Hospital and one of 225 at Brigham and Women’s Hospital who specialize in Anesthesiology.


Heather Basara Richter, Ph.D
Dr. Basara Richter completed her Ph.D in the College of Public Health at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. She applied computational and geospatial technologies to study the spatial and temporal relationships between determinate of health and patterns of chronic and infectious disease outcomes. Following graduate school, Dr. Basara Richter joined the University of Oklahoma with a joint faculty appointment in the Center for Applied Social Research and the Department of Geography and Environmental Sustainability. As an academic, she held associate faculty appointments in the Stephenson Cancer Center in the College of Public Health. She currently serves as a panel reviewer for NIH and works as a scientific consultant.


Lisa Stearns, M.D.
Dr. Lisa Stearns is the world’s foremost expert in interventional therapy for cancer pain and is internationally renowned for her research and expertise with intrathecal pumps. Dr. Stearns is committed to educating patients and healthcare professionals about the most effective pain management and supportive care technigues. Upon receiving her medical degree from the University of Nebraska in 1991 and completing her residency in anesthesiology and her fellowship in pain management, Dr. Stearns became one of only a handful of interventional pain specialists to become board certified in hospice and palliative medicine.Dr. Stearns has authored numerous peer-reviewed articles on pain management and palliative care and is actively invovled in research at both the early development and late clinical trial stages. She is frequenetly a featured speaker at national and international conferences in her field and has an adjunct faculty appointment at May Clinic College of Medicine where she trains pain management fellows. In all her work, Dr. Stearns seeks to raise awareness that pain management can “build a bridge back to life.”



Directors of the Board:

Gladstone McDowell, M.D.
Dr. McDowell’s research is published in peer-reviewed medical journals. He has authored book chapters regarding Urology and Anesthesiology. He is the Medical Director of Integrated Pain Solutions in Columbus, Ohio. Dr. McDowell attended medical school at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He completed Residency in Anesthesiology at the University of Colorado in Denver. Dr. McDowell completed a Urologic Oncology Fellowship at the University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. He performed a Pain Management Fellowship in the Department of Anesthesiology at the Ohio State Pain Control Center.


Amitabh Gulati, M.D.
Dr. Gulati practices at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in Manhattan. He is board certified in anesthesiology and pain medicine and completed his fellowship at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center and the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. His clinical expertise is in anesthesiology, cancer pain management and interventional pain management.


Brian M. Bruel, M.D., M.B.A.
Past President
Dr. Bruel earned his medical degree at the University of East in the Philippines in 2001. He completed his residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston in 2006 and served as chief resident. Following his residency, Dr. Bruel completed a fellowship in Pain Medicine at MD Anderson Cancer Center. He then joined the faculty at The University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas prior to returning to MD Anderson. In addition to his medical degree, Dr. Bruel earned an MBA from Texas Womens University and a Master’s degree in Exercise Physiology from the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, MN. He is board certified by the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and board certified in Pain Medicine through the American Board of Medical Specialties.He is a graduate of the inaugural class of the Texas Medical Association Leadership College in 2011. He has presented abstracts and courses both nationally and internationally and has active research protocols at MD Anderson. He has been recognized as one of the Best Doctors in America and Texas Monthly Rising Stars in Medicine. His research interests include metastatic spine, pain in the cancer survivor, catastrophic injury and neuromodulation.


Board Members Emeritus:

William Rosenberg, M.D.
President Emeritus and Founder Dr. William S. Rosenberg attended Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts, graduating in 1987. He completed his neurosurgical residency at Massachusetts General Hopsital, also located in Boston, in 1993. He is a Fellow of the American Association of Neurological Surgery and a Diplomat of the American Board of Neurological Surgery.  Dr. Rosenberg joined Midwest Neurosurgery Associates in 2002, out of a desire for greater focus on patient care.  It was out of this focus on patient care that Dr. Rosenberg expanded his practice from complex spinal surgery to include the treatment of chronic and cancer-related pain.  Dr. Rosenberg is actively involved in treating patients with such modalities as neuromodulation, intrathecal pharmacotherapy, neurostimulation of the brain, spinal cord and peripheral nerves and neuroablation to modify the nervous system's response to pain.  He is also very active in training other health care providers, curriculum development and lecturing, as well as designing and supervising clinical trials.  Dr. Rosenberg is also a member of the AANS, CNS, AAPM and NANS and is the Secretary/Treasurer of the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Pain.


Nora Janjan, M.D.,M.P.S.A., M.B.A
Dr. Janjan is a board certified oncologist and one of a few physicians nationally with a Masters in Public Service Administration and Masters in Business Administration. Her expertise includes clinical trials, healthcare economics and outcomes research, healthcare policy, patient reported outcomes, palliative care/pain management. Dr. Janjan’s experience in academic medicine includes that of a tenured Professor in Radiation Oncology and Symptom Research at MD Anderson Cancer Center where I served as Vice Chair of the Institutional Review Board, and the Professional Liability Committee, Conflict of Interest Committee and Promotion and Tenure Committee.